

Council (Special)

Wednesday 14 December 2022 2.00 pm

(Special meeting convened under the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972)

Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend – Please see "PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING" below, for details of how to access the meeting, and the safety measures which apply.

COUNCIL (Special Meeting)

Wednesday 14 December 2022, at 2.00 pm

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor Sioned-Mair Richards) THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Colin Ross)

1	Beauchief & Greenhill Ward Simon Clement-Jones Richard Shaw Sophie Thornton	10	East Ecclesfield Ward Vic Bowden Craig Gamble Pugh Alan Woodcock	19	Nether Edge & Sharrow Ward Nighat Basharat Peter Garbutt Maroof Raouf
2	Beighton Ward Kurtis Crossland Bob McCann Ann Woolhouse	11	Ecclesall Ward Roger Davison Barbara Masters Shaffaq Mohammed	20	Park & Arbourthorne Ward Ben Miskell Nabeela Mowlana Sophie Wilson
3	Birley Ward Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan	12	Firth Park Ward Fran Belbin Abdul Khayum Abtisam Mohamed	21	Richmond Ward David Barker Mike Drabble Dianne Hurst
4	Broomhill & Sharrow Vale Ward Angela Argenzio Maleiki Haybe Brian Holmshaw	13	Fulwood Ward Sue Alston Andrew Sangar Cliff Woodcraft	22	Shiregreen & Brightside Ward Dawn Dale Peter Price Garry Weatherall
5	Burngreave Ward Talib Hussain Mark Jones Safiya Saeed	14	Gleadless Valley Ward Alexi Dimond Marieanne Elliot Paul Turpin	23	Southey Ward Mike Chaplin Tony Damms Jayne Dunn
6	City Ward Douglas Johnson Ruth Mersereau Martin Phipps	15	Graves Park Ward Ian Auckland Sue Auckland Steve Ayris	24	Stannington Ward Penny Baker Vickie Priestley Richard Williams
7	Crookes & Crosspool Ward Tim Huggan Ruth Milsom Minesh Parekh	16	Hillsborough Ward Christine Gilligan Kubo George Lindars-Hammond Henry Nottage	25	Stocksbridge & Upper Don Ward Lewis Chinchen Julie Grocutt Janet Ridler
8	<i>Darnall Ward</i> Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea Zahira Naz	17	Manor Castle Ward Terry Fox Anne Murphy Sioned-Mair Richards	26	Walkley Ward Ben Curran Tom Hunt Bernard Little
9	Dore & Totley Ward Joe Otten Colin Ross Martin Smith	18	Mosborough Ward Tony Downing Kevin Oxley Gail Smith	27	West Ecclesfield Ward Alan Hooper Mike Levery Ann Whitaker
				28	Woodhouse Ward Mick Rooney Jackie Satur

Paul Wood

Contact:

Paul Robinson, Democratic Services

Tel: 0114 2734029

paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at http://democracy.sheffield.gov.uk/ieListMeetings.aspx?Committeeld=154. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to most Council meetings and recording is allowed under the direction of the Chair. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information regarding public questions and petitions and details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last.

Meetings of the Council have to be held as physical meetings. If you would like to attend the meeting, please report to an Attendant in the Foyer at the Town Hall where you will be directed to the meeting room. However, it would be appreciated if you could register to attend, in advance of the meeting, by emailing committee@sheffield.gov.uk, as this will assist with the management of attendance at the meeting.

Please do not attend the meeting if you have COVID-19 symptoms. It is also recommended that you undertake a Covid-19 Rapid Lateral Flow Test within two days of the meeting. To aid safe access and protect all attendees, you are welcome to wear a face covering within the venue.

PLEASE NOTE: The Public Gallery in the Town Hall Council Chamber can accommodate 50 persons. Social distancing may not be possible in the Gallery depending on the numbers of members of the public in attendance at the meeting. An overspill area will be provided in the event that more than 50 members of the public attend - the webcast of the meeting will be live streamed to that room.

We are unable to guarantee entrance to the Public Gallery for observers, as priority will be given to registered speakers and those that have registered to attend.

Alternatively, you can observe the meeting remotely by clicking on the 'view the webcast' link provided on the <u>meeting page</u> of the website.

FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

COUNCIL AGENDA

14 DECEMBER 2022 (2.00 P.M.)

Order of Business

1. WELCOME AND HOUSEKEEPING ANNOUNCEMENTS

2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any interests they have in the business to be considered at the meeting.

4. HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE CITY OF SHEFFIELD - THE RIGHT HONOURABLE MR RICHARD CABORN

To move:-

"That under and by virtue of the provisions of Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Honorary Freedom of the City of Sheffield be conferred by the Council on The Right Honourable Mr Richard Caborn, in recognition of his contribution to the advancement of sport in Sheffield, nationwide and internationally, and, in doing so, rendering eminent services to the City."

5. ESTABLISHMENT OF A TWIN CITY RELATIONSHIP WITH KHMELNYTSKYI, UKRAINE

- To (a) receive an address from the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Khmelnytskyi, Ukraine presenting a brief overview of their city, their city's situation in respect of the current conflict in their country and their desire to establish twin city relations with Sheffield; and
- (b) to authorise the Lord Mayor to sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the city of Khmelnytskyi on behalf of the City Council and the citizens of Sheffield, and to observe the signing of the MoU by the Lord Mayor and the Mayor of Khmelnytskyi.

(Further information regarding the proposed city relations is set out in the report of the Executive Director, City Futures, published with this agenda.)

ARTh.

David Hollis Interim Director of Legal and Governance

Dated this 6 day of December 2022

The next ordinary meeting of the Council will be held on 14 December 2022 at the Town Hall